Teenzone's Booked

Reviews, book news, and all good things related to teen stuff at the Strathcona County Library.

Wicked Lovely October 16, 2009

Filed under: Fantasy — sclrobyn @ 5:54 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

wickedlovelyWicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

Aishlinn can see fairies. Not your garden-variety, sweet flower fairies. Fairies that walk unseen in the human world, beautiful, capricious, fierce. If they are feeling mischievious might tie your shoe laces together, or hide your socks. Yet, on a whim, they can be far more sinister and cruel. Aishlinn has always been able to see them, and so can her grandmother. She has impressed upon her some fundamental rules.

  1. Don’t ever attract their attention
  2. Don’t speak to invisible fairies
  3. Don’t stare at invisible fairies

If they ever found out that she could see them, they might put out her eyes, or something far worse. She lives her life on edge, trying not to acknowledge the fairies all around her. But, the rules are changing. She is being stalked by several fairies, and she finds out that the Summer King has set his sights on her.

Sequels: Ink Exchange, Fragile Eternity

Readalikes: Tithe by Holly Black; The Blue Girl by Charles de Lint

Advertisements
 

Automaton in The Invention of Hugo Cabret

 If you were ever wondering how the Automaton in The Invention of Hugo Cabret works, have a look at this site. The Franklin’s Institute in Philadelphia owns Maillardet’s automaton, and there is a fascinating video of Brian Selznick and a curator demonstrating how the automaton works.

http://www.fi.edu/learn/sci-tech/automaton/automaton.php?cts=instrumentation

 
As in the novel, this automaton was severely damaged in a fire, and was carefully restored. It can draw four pictures including a ship and a pagoda, as well as three poems.
 
 
 

Invention of Hugo Cabret

hugocabretHugo is an orphan. His father has died in an explosion, and he goes to live with his uncle in an apartment at the large Paris train station. His uncle’s job is to repair the many clocks at the station. His uncle, however, is an alcoholic, and one day doesn’t return. Hugo realizes that if anyone finds out that he is on his own, he will likely get hauled off to an orphanage, and he decides to try to keep the clocks running himself. If you are wondering how a kid can accomplish this, Hugo’s father was a watchmaker, and Hugo has inherited his father’s affinity for small machines. He has also inherited his father’s automaton, a mechanical man which if wound, can draw a picture such as a landscape, portrait, or map. Hugo’s automaton is broken, and he feels passionately that, if he could fix it, it may hold a clue or message to him from his beloved father. He begins stealing mechanical parts from the toymaker’s shop in the train station, and before too long, his secret is out.

 

Mouse Circus October 9, 2009

Filed under: Tie-ins and Trivia — sclrobyn @ 1:46 am
Tags: , ,

Today when I was visiting some Jr. high classes, I mentioned Neil Gaiman’s website, Mouse Circus, as a great place to get loads of extra background info about his books. Here is the link:

www.mousecircus.com

Neil Gaiman is the brilliant author of Stardust, Coraline, and more recently, The Graveyard Book. In a speaking tour last year, he recorded podcasts where he reads from The Graveyard Book. Click on “Extras” to find The Graveyard Book Video Tour. We also have a talking book version at the library read aloud by the author!

The Graveyard Book is about a seemingly normal boy, Nobody Owens, called Bod by his friends. He is normal except for one crucial fact – he lives in a graveyard and has been raised and educated by the ghosts who inhabit it. When he was a toddler, his parents were brutally murdered by a man named Jack.

Picture the tiny, innocent child, toddling out the front door, down the street, and into the graveyard. The ghosts of the graveyard take pity on him and place him under their protection. As Bod grows older, he comes to realize that he must make a choice – to stay in the familiar, safe environs he has always known, or to venture past the graveyard gates and try to find out the identity of the man Jack who searches for him still…

 

The Hunger Games

Filed under: Adventure — sclrobyn @ 1:28 am
Tags: , , , ,

hungerIn a post-apocalyptic place once known as North America, the land has been divided into 12 districts which surround the glittering, powerful capital city of Panem which rises at the center. In order to keep the citizens subjugated, each district must select two young people each year to participate in the televised Hunger Games. It is a fight to the death, and all are forced to watch.

Katniss is thrust into the competition when – against all odds – her younger sister’s name is selected in the lottery and Katniss volunteers to take her place. She must use all her talents as an archer and hunter to stay alive.