Teenzone's Booked

Reviews, book news, and all good things related to teen stuff at the Strathcona County Library.

The Odyssey By Gareth Hinds August 22, 2011

Teen Review By: Matthew J.

Rating: 5/5

What is the book about?

This book is about Odysseus, sacker of Troy, who on his voyage home was cursed by the gods. Mutiny and misfortune plague him, delaying his journey 17 years.

What did you like/dislike about it?

I liked the well done art and the delivery of the story. I think that Homer’s epics should be shown to everyone.

Who would you recommend it to?

I would recommend it to anyone who likes a long graphic novel, around 250 pages, and who is a reasonable age (some gore).

 

Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles August 15, 2011

Teen Review By: Abbey F.

Rating: 5/5

What is the book about?

It all starts when “Miss Popular” Brittany is paired up with badboy Mexican Alex. Soon they fall for each other but it is hard to have a relationship when everyone else is against it.

What did you like/dislike about it?

I loved the storyline and how there is so much emotion in the pages of this book. The author really transports you.

Who would you recommend it to?

Anyone who likes a good love story about forbidden love. It is a realistic read.

 

 

Beastly by Alex Flinn August 12, 2011

Teen Review By: Shayla M.

Rating: 4/5

What is the book about?

Kyle Kingsbury is a shallow guy who is rude and mean. One day he takes it too far with a girl in his class and she turns him into an ugly beast. Then he has 2 years to get someone to love him or he stays like that forever.

What did you like/dislike about it?

I liked how it was a modern version of “Beauty and the Beast” which is one of my favourite fairytales.

Who would you recommend it to?

Anyone who likes fantasy and fairytales.

__________________________________________________________________

* A note from YS staff member Tara: For those who enjoy Twisted Fairytales such as Beastly, check out our Fractured & Grimm: Fairy Tales for Teens booklist.

 

Granny by Anthony Horowitz August 10, 2011

Teen Review By: Caitlin T.

Rating: 5/5

What is the book about?

Joe’s granny is evil and she is out to get him. Can he stop her?

What did you like/dislike about it?

I liked the unbelievable topic.

Who would you recommend it to?

Horror fans

 

Distant Waves by Suzanne Weyn August 8, 2011

Teen Review By: Emily R.

Rating: 5/5

What is the book about?

Jane is just an average girl, until one day when she accidentally takes a trip on the Titanic and her life is forever changed.

What did you like/dislike about it?

This book combines both non-fiction and fiction aspects of the Titanic to make an amazing story.

Who would you recommend it to?

Anyone who likes book full of suspense or reading about historical events that changed the world.

__________________________________________________________________

* A note from YS staff member Tara: Skip on over to YouTube and check out this nifty book trailer put out by publisher Scholastic. It features author Suzanne Weyn, who talks about the real life events and places that inspired the story, and shares advice for young  historical fiction writers.

 

Hunger Games movie getting closer… June 26, 2011

Filed under: Adventure,science fiction — sclrobyn @ 10:06 pm
Tags: , ,

This past month’s edition of Entertainment Weekly featured a lengthy article about the upcoming movie, lots of pics, and information about the cast. Katniss is going to be played by Jennifer Lawrence, who plays Mystique in the X-Men: First Class movie.

Take a look at the Entertainment Weekly website…if you want to read the complete article, look for the May 27, 2011 Library copy in our catalogue.

What do you think of the new Katniss?

 

Mutiny February 17, 2010

Filed under: Adventure,Historical fiction — sclrobyn @ 1:44 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Mutiny: A Novel of the Bounty by John Boyne

When pickpocket John Jacob Turnstile is arrested for trying to steal a pocketwatch, he is given a choice to either rot in prison or venture on board a ship bound for South Asia.

He chooses to board the bounty, captained by the moody and brilliant Captain Bligh, who leads the crew on a doomed voyage to Tahiti. Bligh meets fierce resistance when he tries to get his crew to leave the idyllic island, and Turnstile finds himself caught between his loyalty to the captain, his intense dislike of the mutineers, and his intense longing for paradise and home.

Readalikes: Stowaway by Karen Hesse; Pirates by Celia Rees