Teenzone's Booked

Reviews, book news, and all good things related to teen stuff at the Strathcona County Library.

Falcondance by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes August 17, 2011

Teen Review By: Victoria D.

Rating: 3/5

What is the book about?

A falcon who is alone in his court, traveling to the city of falcons and discovering that he is the next heir.

What did you like/dislike about it?

It was very richly written

Who would you recommend it to?

It is a very good fantasy, so fantasy fans.

Advertisements
 

Beastly by Alex Flinn August 12, 2011

Teen Review By: Shayla M.

Rating: 4/5

What is the book about?

Kyle Kingsbury is a shallow guy who is rude and mean. One day he takes it too far with a girl in his class and she turns him into an ugly beast. Then he has 2 years to get someone to love him or he stays like that forever.

What did you like/dislike about it?

I liked how it was a modern version of “Beauty and the Beast” which is one of my favourite fairytales.

Who would you recommend it to?

Anyone who likes fantasy and fairytales.

__________________________________________________________________

* A note from YS staff member Tara: For those who enjoy Twisted Fairytales such as Beastly, check out our Fractured & Grimm: Fairy Tales for Teens booklist.

 

Elf Realm: The High Road By Daniel Kirk July 28, 2011

Teen Review By: Josh B.

Rating: 4/5

What is the book about?

It’s about a boy who steps on an elf shoe and his foot gets infected. The only way to get an antidote is to find the leader of the elves.

What did you like/dislike about it?

I liked that it was an adventure book about elves and humans.

Who would you recommend it to?

I would recommend it to someone who likes fantasy.

 

 

How To Ditch Your Fairy By Justine Larbalestier

Teen Review By: Megan H.

Rating: 5/5

What is this book about?

Charlie is 14 and lives in a world where everyone has a fairy. Hers is a parking fairy and she hates it. Along with another girl who hates her fairy as well, they devise a plan to ditch their fairies.

What did you like/dislike about it?

What I liked about this book was the emotion in it. Whatever Charlie felt, I felt even more.

Who would you recommend it to?

I would recommend this book to any teenage girl who is interested in funny fiction stories.

 

 

Twilight: The Graphic Novel Vol. 1 By Stephenie Meyer July 19, 2011

Teen Review By: Samantha L.

Rating: 4/5

What is the book about?

In my book, Bella goes to live with her dad for a while in Forks. In Forks, she falls in love with Edward Cullen who is strange. Later she finds out he is a vampire but she is not scared. She is in love.

What did you like/dislike about it?

I liked the romance between Edward and Bella. It was interesting and sometimes strange.

Who would you recommend it to?

I recommend this book to teens who love fictional love stories.

 

The Last Apprentice: Revenge Of The Witch By Joseph Delaney July 14, 2011

Filed under: Fantasy,Teen Summer Reading Game 2011 — sclrobyn @ 12:53 am
Tags: ,

Teen Review By: Alwin M.

Rating: 4/5

What is the book about?

A boy (Tom Ward) is being the apprentice of a Spook.

What did you like/dislike about it?

I liked how everyone had a country accent.

Who would you recommend it to?

I would recommend it to anyone who likes fantasy books.

 

Impossible February 17, 2010

Filed under: Fantasy — sclrobyn @ 11:12 pm
Tags: , , ,

Impossible by Nancy Werlin

I loved this truly unusual retelling of the “Scarborough Fair” ballad. Suspenseful, supernatural, romantic.

Lucy Scarborough learns at 17 that all the women of her family have lived under a curse – they go insane at the birth of their child. She is reminded of what may happen to her in the infrequent mad visits by her own mother, who will show up at school or in the neighborhood to stare, throw shoes, or curse.

After she is raped and becomes pregnant, Lucy that there is a sinister reason behind this curse. An elfin king has cursed her family in retribution for spurned love. Yet, if Lucy can perform three impossible tasks, listed in the old ballad “Scarborough Fair” that her mother used to sing, she might break free of the spell.

Readalikes: Zel by Donna Jo Napoli