Teenzone's Booked

Reviews, book news, and all good things related to teen stuff at the Strathcona County Library.

Distant Waves by Suzanne Weyn August 8, 2011

Teen Review By: Emily R.

Rating: 5/5

What is the book about?

Jane is just an average girl, until one day when she accidentally takes a trip on the Titanic and her life is forever changed.

What did you like/dislike about it?

This book combines both non-fiction and fiction aspects of the Titanic to make an amazing story.

Who would you recommend it to?

Anyone who likes book full of suspense or reading about historical events that changed the world.

__________________________________________________________________

* A note from YS staff member Tara: Skip on over to YouTube and check out this nifty book trailer put out by publisher Scholastic. It features author Suzanne Weyn, who talks about the real life events and places that inspired the story, and shares advice for young  historical fiction writers.

Advertisements
 

The Secret of Sentinel Rock by Judith Silverthorne July 14, 2011

Teen Review By: Caitlin T.

Rating: 5/5

What is the book about?

Emily’s grandmother died and her family went to her house for the funeral. She visits her lookout rock and finds a girl that looks like she jumped out of a textbook! What does the rock have to offer and can the girl help Emily?

What did you like/dislike about it?

I like the connection between Emily and Emma! Although the ending is sad.

Who would you recommend it to?

People who like history and bonds between friends.

 

Mutiny February 17, 2010

Filed under: Adventure,Historical fiction — sclrobyn @ 1:44 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Mutiny: A Novel of the Bounty by John Boyne

When pickpocket John Jacob Turnstile is arrested for trying to steal a pocketwatch, he is given a choice to either rot in prison or venture on board a ship bound for South Asia.

He chooses to board the bounty, captained by the moody and brilliant Captain Bligh, who leads the crew on a doomed voyage to Tahiti. Bligh meets fierce resistance when he tries to get his crew to leave the idyllic island, and Turnstile finds himself caught between his loyalty to the captain, his intense dislike of the mutineers, and his intense longing for paradise and home.

Readalikes: Stowaway by Karen Hesse; Pirates by Celia Rees

 

Invention of Hugo Cabret October 16, 2009

hugocabretHugo is an orphan. His father has died in an explosion, and he goes to live with his uncle in an apartment at the large Paris train station. His uncle’s job is to repair the many clocks at the station. His uncle, however, is an alcoholic, and one day doesn’t return. Hugo realizes that if anyone finds out that he is on his own, he will likely get hauled off to an orphanage, and he decides to try to keep the clocks running himself. If you are wondering how a kid can accomplish this, Hugo’s father was a watchmaker, and Hugo has inherited his father’s affinity for small machines. He has also inherited his father’s automaton, a mechanical man which if wound, can draw a picture such as a landscape, portrait, or map. Hugo’s automaton is broken, and he feels passionately that, if he could fix it, it may hold a clue or message to him from his beloved father. He begins stealing mechanical parts from the toymaker’s shop in the train station, and before too long, his secret is out.

 

Boy in the Striped Pyjamas September 18, 2008

Filed under: Historical fiction — sclrobyn @ 11:50 am
Tags: , ,
Boy in Striped Pyjamas

Boy in Striped Pyjamas

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne is due to be released as a movie on Nov. 7, 2008.

Bored and lonely after his family moves from Berlin to a place called “Out-With” in 1942, Bruno, the son of a Nazi officer, befriends a boy in striped pyjamas who lives behind a wire fence.